Alcohol Does Not Belong in Wellness Spaces

Dara Laine Murray
5 min readAug 22, 2022

The other day I got an invite to attend a yoga event. My initial reaction was “Yes!”…until I read through the entire event description. The yoga class would be held in a wine garden and attendees would receive a complimentary glass of wine before and after the class.

Ugh. Hard pass.

I’m sober myself, but my sobriety wasn’t the main reason I cringed in response to this event. Rather, I was alarmed by the deeply problematic messaging that alcohol is associated with health, wellness, and vitality.

As someone who works in the wellness sector, I feel that it’s my duty, along with other wellness professionals, to clap back at this messaging: Alcohol does not belong in wellness spaces. Period.

I understand this might be a hot take for some, but I hope you’ll hear me out.

alcohol does not belong in wellness spaces

A Culture Obsessed with Health and Alcohol

Culturally, we are obsessed with health and wellness. We read labels, shun processed foods, buy organic, go gluten-free, use natural skin care products, worry about fluoride in our water, practice yoga, meditate, drink out of BPA-free water bottles, journal, juice, cleanse, and collect crystals. Yet we drink alcohol.

--

--

Dara Laine Murray

Multi-passionate sobriety writer on Medium. Day job: Director of Research at a nonprofit. Stories = sober + stats. Editor: https://medium.com/modern-sobriety